Our History

current aerial view med


Our motto "The love of Christ has gathered us together" is expressed as a school community committed to the continuing educational process of developing unique persons in an environment where Christian faith is translated into action. In order to be integral members of the school community, students are strongly encouraged to participate in co-instructional activities such as sports, committees and clubs.

St. Joseph's Morrow Park Catholic Secondary School is a school for young women and is attached to the Motherhouse of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Toronto. The Congregation was founded in LePuy, France, in the year 1648 by a French Jesuit named Jean-Pierre Medaille. From the beginning, the community was active in the care of orphans, the sick and in the education of the young. The Sisters of St. Joseph arrived in Toronto in 1851 and since that time have made an impressive contribution to Catholic education in Toronto.

St. Joseph's Morrow Park came about as a result of the relocation and expansion of St. Joseph's which was then operating at Bay and Wellesley. The new Motherhouse was built in Willowdale on the property given to the congregation by Frederick Morrow and after whom it is named along with the name of the patron saint of the congregation. A day school and boarding school were part of this complex. In September 1960, St. Joseph's Morrow Park opened with an enrollment of 147 girls and a staff of nine sisters and one lay teacher.

Today the school is operated by the Toronto Catholic District School Board. The school is organized on a semester system. Resource assistance, a gifted program and English as a second language are also offered for our students. The SJMP student uniform consists of the MacKinnon plaid kilt, black slacks, green vest/pullover, white blouse, green or brown socks/leotards and brown or black shoes.

© 2017